Home > Organization > Organization structure

Organization structure

The management structure of the Department of Public Health (Maatschappelijke Gezondheidszorg) consist of:

  • Research leaders: (associate) professors and representatives from support staff and junior researchers. Responsibilities: research strategy, general budget allocation, innovation and HR policies.
  • Two program committees: all researchers with a PhD (from postdoc onwards). Responsibilities: programmatic coordination and planning, grant proposals, and emerging research topics.
  • Management team: Head of Department, adjunct head, theme office director, HR advisor, and management assistant. Responsibilities: tactical and operational management decisions, primarily personnel appointments and contracts.
  • Junior researchers committee: five to seven elected junior researchers. Responsibilities: direct representation in research leaders meeting, organization of training activities, advice on the supervision of PhD students.


The Medical Ethics, Philosophy, and History of Medicine sub-department has an internal management structure.